Open Road Open Skies Cycling Holidays Logo

Testimonials

The following are some of the reviews that our clients have left about our tours and our services on sites such as Tripadvisor and Google.


Conway River Bend

What our clients are saying about us



"Shane of Open Road Open Skies did a fantastic job looking after 19 of us on the Mizmal tour. Nothing was too much trouble,from repairing punctures,providing delicious roadside snacks or highlighting must-see local points of interest. Shane was always calm and composed despite our varied and unexpected requests. He was extremely knowledgeable and flexible when discussing route planning,and also very efficient and totally reliable. We will definitely be going on another OROS trip soon!"
RhonaHughes - Tripadvisor October 2018 - Mizen Head to Malin Head'


"Brilliant holiday - Shane, owner of Open Road Open Skies, put together a great bespoke trip for our group of 19 cyclists of mixed experience and abilities who wanted to cycle from the furthest South to the furthest North of Ireland over 9 days. Shane is always calm and good humoured and nothing too much trouble. Shane runs a really genuine hands on outfit that can tailor make your trip within your budget guidelines, including bookings, logistics and roadside support and really cares that you enjoy your holiday and that you achieve your goals. Would definitely use Open Road Open Skies again."
Sue J - Tripadvisor October 2018 - Mizen Head to Malin Head'


"What an incredible ten days in west Ireland! Shane Cody was to become like our surrogate Mum & Dad - there whenever we needed him for a puncture or for coffee & biscuits at the roadside. He gave us great recommendations of places to visit and for coffee & lunch. And what a route he devised for us! Such a lot to see but much of it we rode on quieter roads with links for our GPS devices plus paper maps. Our bags were taken from one hotel to the next like clockwork and all we had to do was enjoy ourselves. Only two hours of rain in nine days cycling; Ireland we'll be back again - with Shane of course!"
williejack - Tripadvisor September 2018 - Mizen Head to Malin Head'


"For over 500miles of complex route planning for 19 of us from Scotland, Shane of open roads open skies had it covered. He supported us fantastically, the roadside tea and snack stalls appearing from the back of his van always a welcome site. Everywhere we went he knew the best cafes and we stayed in some lovely places. But most of all he was always good humoured and willing to answer questions, mend bikes and talk about extra loops for the guys who wanted to complete 600 miles. I cannot recommend this company highly enough. Thank you Shane."

HelenL - Tripadvisor September 2018 - Mizen Head to Malin Head'


"Shane Cody of Open Road Open Skies organised our route and hotels and shepherded 19 cyclists on this 9 day, 900 km adventure, from Mizen Head to Malin Head, showing great patience, always cheerful, giving good advice on good routes, transporting luggage, meeting us for roadside coffee stops. Shane deserves the 5 star or 5 dot reviews that others have given. Highly Recommended."

donaldgalloway - Tripadvisor September 2018 - Mizen Head to Malin Head'


"An excellent 4 day, three night trip all superbly organised by Open Roads Open Skies! We had planned to do the trip in June but due to a bicycle accident we had to postpone and do the ride in September! This was absolutely no problem at all for Kay who cancelled all the B&Bs and re-booked them for Sept. Wonderful service! The B&Bs on route were all excellent all hand picked by OROS, The Lindon and The Lock house quite exceptional. Kay met us the start, gave us hints and tips and supplied us with a route guide. Our luggage was transported each day to our next B&B. Everything went as planned, we couldn`t have asked for more. A very friendly, helpful and professional company and we wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone! Thanks Shane and Kay. Baz and Jen, Monmouth."

2Wheeler2018 - Tripadvisor September 2018 - way of the Roses'


"We've used OROS for previous cycle trips and can throughly recommend.Great organisation, lovely people and a pleasure to deal with. Shane and Kay go the extra mile to ensure a great holiday. The Coast and Castles route is fabulous.A varied and fascinating ride through hugely varied countryside. Our accommodation was as we expect from OROS of a high standard and cycle friendly. We will be back for more."

scotchtastic2016 - Tripadvisor September 2018 - Coast and Castles'


"Very nice trip , very good organization. Shane and Kay are convivial persons. This trip was a great experience. Many thanks for all."

luc_giral - Tripadvisor July 2018 - Way of the Roses'


"We benefited greatly from Shane and Kay's support throughout the journey. Not only were they authentically friendly, but also timely in Hull, Morecambe and Bridlington, and experienced in the choice of B&Bs. We highly recommend servicing OROS ! Kind wishes, Olivier Marty"

Oliver M - Tripadvisor July 2018 - Way of the Roses'


"The organisation was excellent - well chosen accomodation and flawless support all conducted in the most helpful and friendly manner. Could not have been better. We will certainly use their services again. Highly recommended. David and Dorothy Butterfield "

dotbutter - Tripadvisor June 2018 - Hadrian's Cycleway'


"The itinerary for our Way of the Roses cycle ride was well prepared and the accommodation selected was excellent. We were given lots of extra information and tips which helped us a great deal. It was wonderful to arrive at the next destination to find our bags already waiting for us. The bike I rented from OROS was excellent, well maintained and very comfortable to ride. Excellent service provided by Shane and Kay Cody - very highly recommended."

Fiona B - Tripadvisor June 2018 - Way of the Roses


"Great attention to detail with wonderful selection of overnight stops. Our bags always arrived before we did. Highly recommended"

C2351JProberts - Tripadvisor June 2018 - Way of the Roses

What our clients are saying about us


"We have just returned from the most amazing cycling holiday in the Outer Hebrides. We went with another couple of friends, and the whole trip was excellent from start to finish. Shane and Kay were so helpful from the minute we contacted them last year, adapting arrangements, with no problem at all. Shane met us on our first day, and was there throughout our 5 day trip,offering support along the way, as well as tea/coffee/ bananas and snacks!! All their recommendations of hotels/B&B’s were great, ( Castle Bay Hotel,Bonnie View B&B, Rodean Guest House, Galson Farm) as well as restaurants we ate at( they advised us to book where we could, and that was ideal after a long days ride).Cafe Kisimul in Castlebay was a particular highlight. We were so lucky with the weather, and we highly recommend Open Road Skies for this trip."

Anju P - Tripadvisor June 2018 - Hebridean Way

>
"6 of us completed the coast to coast cycle from Whitehaven to Tynemouth with OROS. It was an absolutely fantastic experience. Well organised, seamless, from pick up with our bikes to drop off afterwards and fish and chips on the way home in the minibus a truly wonderful weekend, We will definitely be trying to decide which route to do next year. Bed and breakfasts were all clean and comfortable, Boot and Shoe with a bath in Greystoke was a real find, amazingly friendly staff. Would also recommend stopping at the Watermill in Little Salkeld near Penrith for coffee, a mill tour and some of their baked goods all made with their own organic flour. Really enjoyed dinner on the 3rd night at Stanhope old hall just a short walk from our BnB with excellent food after a long day on the bike. Thanks Kay and Shane for a brilliant trip, highly recommend your services."

Jean M - Tripadvisor September 2017 - C2C

"From first contact to final baggage drop we can't fault this family company. Shane and Kay arranged our tour around our needs allowing us to basically turn up and cycle each day. Running up to our trip Kay kept us informed of everything we needed exactly when she said she would. Shane met us at the pre arranged location bang on time and happily loaded up our bikes and baggage and took us to our start point. Shane was friendly and approachable and gave us lots of tips about the route. The accommodation booked was excellent and well placed on route and each day Shane picked up our bags and took them to our next stop efficiently. We cannot recommend this company highly enough and will happily use them again. Thanks guys you were great!"

JonathanCadd - Tripadvisor September 2017 - Walney to Whitby

"Our second cycling holiday with OROS.A wonderful time cycling in North Wales. Shane and Kay ensure a stress free time. The route suggested was unforgettable.As expected everything was expertly organised: nothing was too much trouble. I have no hesitation in recommending this fantastic family company.We will certainly be coming back for more."

scotchtastic2016 - Tripadvisor September 2017 - North Wales

"Shane and Kay have, yet again, managed to deliver an unforgettable family holiday. From organising a pull along bike for wee Tommy (age 6) to providing indebt knowledge of the local areas as well as bringing us along an amazing route, they had it all. This is our second year using Open Road Open Skies and it certainty wont be our last, the only problem we have now is trying to decide which of the many routes they offer will we do next??? Massive thanks again Shane and Kay and see ya's next year."

Ted D - Tripadvisor August 2017 - Morecambe Bay Cycleway

"The organisation of accommodation and baggage transfer was smooth and efficient. All of the accommodation was excellent and it was helpful to meet Shane at the start. All queries were dealt with quickly before the trip too."

rvjl529 - Tripadvisor August 2017 - Way of the Roses

"We were certainly lucky with our weather in sunny Northumberland and having Shane and Kay to organise our cycling route. Bikes were great, accommodation too. We loved cycling to Holy Island and particularly enjoyed exploring the castles - Warkworth and Hailes in East Linton being our favourites. The latter is totally unspoilt and free with a gorgeous picnic spot by the river. Howick Hall Gardens in Alnwick is also a most if you love plants and earl grey tea. We chose the coastal route via Dunbar and we did a small detour ( route 196) to take in the Glenkinchie distillery( worth it !) via Haddington - a lovely small town with a great bike shop ( Mikes Bikes - thank you for replacing a nut on the panier holder with no charge) and an amazing independent café ( The Loft )"

Sally E - Tripadvisor July 2017 - Coast and Castles

"I cannot say enough about Shane and Kay and all the personal attention, unique help, and amazing guidance they provided us during our 5 day C2C on the Hadrian's Wall cycleway. We've never toured by bike before, but we were hooked immediately - what a great way to exercise, see a country, stop whenever you like, and more. My bike was a little too long from seat to handlebars, and Shane drove hours to meet us in Carlisle and switch out the neck of my bike, which totally helped. Then my son broke his arm, and Shane arranged for the B&B to retain our bikes while we took a cab to the next location. Then Shane picked up our bikes and met us the following morning, so we could resume the ride (yes, my son rode with a broken arm, but it worked out great). The experience and the personal attention made this something I would totally do again."

acolgan - Tripadvisor July 2017 - Hadrian's Cycleway

"We very much enjoyed our first cycling tour with Open Road Open Skies. We did the Hadrian’s Wall tour and the Coast and Castles tour. Kay and Shane were very helpful in making this possible. The communication was excellent from the start: In preparing the trips, the information was always clear and during both trips, Kay and Shane kept in touch when necessary. We really appreciated this. All accommodations were well selected and enjoyable. When, on the only rainy day, we decided to take a cab and go to the next stopover, the ladies of the next guesthouse received us in a very pleasant manner with coffee, tea and hospitality. The routes were beautiful and clearly indicated. The GPX-files sent by OROS were helpful in case the signs were not entirely clear. We already recommended OROS to several friends here in Holland."

Ernest-Liesbeth - Tripadvisor July 2017 - Hadrian's Cycleway and Coast and Castles'

"What a fantastic experience made all the more enjoyable by Kay and Shane's faultless support and organisation. Really excellent advise and prompt responses from the very first contact - nothing was too much trouble. Shane very quickly put a tour together incorporating the extra nights we requested at Pately Bridge and York. All of the accommodation was of a very high standard with lots of extras thrown in - including home baked scones, cakes and biscuits. We were blessed with lovely weather that really was the icing on the cake."

Heather A - Tripadvisor July 2017 - Way of the Roses

"Portishead to The Wash We were a group of 9 (ranging from 20s to 60s) with varying levels of cycling fitness but we all had so much fun on this trip! Shane was a great guide happily sending us off in the morning with maps and encouragement and patiently listening to us whine about sore muscles at the end of the day. Such a brilliant way to see the country."

Mattie M - Tripadvisor July 2017 - South Historic C2C

"My husband and I bicycled the Coast and Castles self-guided route with Open Road Open Skies and had a fabulous time. The instructions were good (we used the gpx files), the lodgings were friendly, clean and good breakfasts and route beautiful. Shane wrote us every night to make sure things were going well and provided additional information such as recommended stops along the way. The only thing Shane couldn't do was provide better weather. We loved hanging out in castles with roofs and waiting out the rain. Thanks again for the great trip."

Paul K - Tripadvisor June 2017 - Coast and Castles

"Thanks to Shane and Kay for the arrangement of the coast 2 coast tour, 4 of us enjoyed a brilliant experience that was well organised and with great communications from inception to completion. All the accommodation was excellent with good rooms ,good food, safe cycle storage and friendly welcomes. Both the start and return journey where spot on with all the information required to complete the tour. Many thanks from the 4 of us Jackie,Helen ,Steve and Leigh. Will probably give you a call next year for another epic ride, Cheers."

customer500391 - Tripadvisor June 2017 - C2C

"We are so glad we found Open Road Open Skies who organised our rides of the Coast to Coast and of the Yorkshire Dales Cycleway. Our first communications with Shane and Kay were to gather some information about what was possible and what would be most suitable for us. They were always prompt and helpful in their response and we decided to start with the C2C (6 days/5 nights). We had a few days break and then rode the Yorkshire Dales Cycleway (5 days/4nights). Both are challenging rides, probably more so the Y.Dales ride. But you will be well rewarded with fantastic views and scenery along the way. Shane and Kay did a great job of booking our accommodation and the luggage transfers. Shane came to pick us up in Tynemouth at the end of the C2C and drove us to Skipton for the start of the Y. Dales ride. We had a wonderful time and hope we can do something again in the future with O.R.O.S. They went of their way to make sure our experience was the best possible. Highly recommended."

MPTrav - Tripadvisor June 2017 - C2C, Yorkshire Dales Cycleway'

"Good morning Kay, Apologies that I haven't been in touch before now to thank you for organising such a successful and enjoyable C2C ride. Memories of the rain have faded now and I am just grateful for the 25mph westerley gale that accompanied us for most of the trip. It made the hills on day one a lot easier! Yes, I've recovered now but had a few days at the beginning of this week when I couldn't see a chair without falling asleep in it! The gratifying thing is that everyone here seems to think I've done something miraculous at my age, whereas it didn't seem that way to me at the time. Hey Ho. Thank you all at OrOs for your very slick planning and logistics. It was such a weight off our minds (and our saddlebags) to have you deliver our home comforts each day to our hotels and I enjoyed talking to Ann at Brid Station and reminiscencing about living in Brid and Yorkshire in our younger days. I think she must be a few days younger than me, as I don't think Headlands school was even built when I was at St Georges! Thanks again for such a successful and memorable holiday and you can be sure that I'll recommend OrOs to anyone I come across that is contemplating a cycling holiday. Best regards J"

JB - Email - June 2017 - Way of the Roses

"We have just completed a week long trip with Open Roads Open Skies- from start to finish they have been personable efficient calm and open about our plans. We were able to have our holiday but made all the more pleasurable by Shane's quiet efficiency. All of his suggestions were spot on, every B&B has been a delight to visit and they were especially welcoming to cyclists. The journey took in the Coast &Castle Route and then Hadrian's Cycleway- starting at Edinburgh and finishing at Ravenglass. I'd do this again tomorrow- it was a lovely trip and really doable for moderately able cyclists. If you are considering booking with OROS- do so!"

P Wood - Tripadvisor May 2017 - Coast and Castles, Hadrian's Cycleway'

"Hello Kay Thank you for the photos. We really enjoyed the trip - every aspect of it was very good apart from the weather! Please thank Shane for all his assistance. Best wishes for your new family." P & R. "

P & R - Email May 2017 - Way of the Roses

"I decided to do the cycleway late in the season (November) but this didn't phase Shane who did extra research to find year-round b&b's to accommodate me. Because I was cycling solo, they also checked in from time-to-time for updates and to offer encouragement for the next days cycling. Their pre-advice on a few extra items of clothing to deal with a cold 'snap' meant I was well prepared and warm for the trip. The whole thing was well planned by obvious cycling enthusiasts that knew and understood the route fully. Beginning to end, OROS were a delight to deal with. "

Daley T - Tripadvisor November 2016 - Hadrian's Cycleway

"My husband Tony and I did this challenge in 5 days over the autumn half term and firstly we were very lucky with the weather! We had a challenging time especially with some of the hills and long distances BUT it was the challenge we wanted and we did enjoy it what with all the amazing views especially the Yorkshire dales ! We stayed at some lovely B & B s especially the 2 that had a lovely homemade cake and tea waiting for us! Kay and Shane did an excellent job organising the trip for us plus organising the B & B s and transporting our luggage along the way. Shane met us at the start with a lovely welcome and took our photo by the start sign too. He also met us at the finish for another photo at the finishing post along with some lovely champagne! We had a lovely long chatty drive back to the start! Shane also helped us put all our baggage and bikes back into our car ...we were exhausted! We had a great week. Tony and I are relatively fit but glad we put the extra training in. We have done 2 east to west cycle rides now and thoroughly recommend them to anyone who wants a challenge.... you feel so proud of yourselves afterwards !"

jane l - Tripadvisor October 2016 - Way of the Roses

"Our 5 day Way of the Roses ride commenced on the 5 October 2016. For our level of fitness & riding endurance (intermediate), we felt this duration would be the most suitable of the various riding options. That proved to be the case. It was an average of 54kms riding each day (the longest riding day being 75kms). This allowed for a leisurely departure, a comfortable riding pace & a mid afternoon arrival with time to explore the end destination before dark. OROS did an excellent job selecting suitable accommodation & providing documentation that enabled us to find our destinations. Our luggage was always waiting for us, so we could immediately shower & change clothes. There was supportive mid ride communication & a transfer to our accommodation at the conclusion of the ride. It was brilliant!! We would love to do it again. Would we recommend this ride & OROS - YES!! "

Phil P - Tripadvisor October 2016 - Way of the Roses

"We booked our 8 day trip, plus lodging the preceding day for a group of 7 with relatively short notice. Kay and Shane did an excellent job accommodating several special requests including a change of plans on our last day after we finished the ride. We started our ride in Liverpool, rode to Morcambe and over to Bridlington (Way of the Roses). They suggested a rest day in York and this worked out great. This is exactly where we would have wanted to spend more time. We appreciate their flexibility from the start and arrangements were smooth all the way through. We'd definitely consider working with Open Road Open Skies again and wish Kay and Shane all the best as they grow and expand their company. Great customer service is what makes them stand out. I appreciate their rapid responses to our many questions throughout the pre-booking and post-booking process."

wanderlust_not_lost - Tripadvisor September 2016 - Liverpool - Lytham - Morecambe and the Way of the Roses

"Tried to book this with a couple of companies at short notice but neither could help. Then I came across Open Road and they delivered the goods. What was particularly helpful is that they were more flexible than other companies regarding transfers from end to beginning. Even ready with some bubbly to congratulate us on our finish - and no complaints about our late arrival due to punctures!! This is a new company that is very customers focused so I know it will do well. Highly recommend Kay and Shane and I will use for my next trip."

Mike G - Tripadvisor September 2016 - Way of the Roses

"Recently completed Way of the Roses over four days organised excellently by Kay and Shane. Mileage split was well thought out with each day ending with very good B n Bs, Level of support was just right being there if needed, but not intrusive - nice touch to get text message each day from Shane. Would definitively use for another trip and recommend highly."

Debbie C - Tripadvisor September 2016 - Way of the Roses

"Shane and Kay organised a fantastic tour. Nothing was to difficult and they kept us informed at all times, looking after our every need and request. Accomodation, baggage transfer and information - All Excellent. I would highly recommend Open Road Open Skies to anyone wanting a hassle free cycling holiday.. Thanks, a great 5 days, will be booking again.."

chrisperry175 - Tripadvisor September 2016 - Way of the Roses

"We used this company for our Way of the Roses trip. Shane and Kay ensured we were well briefed and prepared. They took all the hassle out of the trip organising accommodation and luggage transfers. The bikes were excellent and entirely suitable for the job. In short all we had to do was ride and enjoy ourselves. I can thoroughly recommend Open Road Open Skies."

scotchtastic2016 - Tripadvisor September 2016 - Way of the Roses

" "This tour was thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish! We travelled from Canada to explore northern England by cycling along the Way of the Roses and even before we left home Open Road Open Skies was there to answer our questions and to provide advice and support as we prepared for our tour. The bikes and accessories were high quality and at the end of each day we found well-chosen, comfortable accommodations awaiting us. OROS provides a top-notch cycling tour. Thanks to their thoughtful planning and expertise, the whole trip was just so much fun and we would do it again in a second! Highly recommended! Joy & Joanna "

Whitewater007 - Tripadvisor August 2016 - Way of the Roses

"Sweetheart and I just completed a 5 day Way of the Roses trip on electric assist bikes, arranged by OROS. I'm 65 and not an avid cyclist, so e-bikes were the best way to do the trip comfortably. OROS does not own e-bikes, but was able to provide them to us at extra charge." ... "All in all, a lovely ride and holiday. OROS did a wonderful job setting up the trip and taking care of us. We would certainly book another biking holiday with OROS"

Tom_anonomous - Tripadvisor August 2016 - Way of the Roses

" This was an amazing ride that was very well organized by Open Road Open Skies. The personal touch by Shane and Kay made all the difference to the trip and the accommodation was nicely thought through. The bikes were excellent and the route very clear. I would certainly use this company again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Catherine Bailey - Email to use as review on site, July 2016 - Way of the Roses

" Did the 4 day Way of the Roses Tour in late June. Great trip, loved it (even did the extra Malham Tarn loop). B&B's were great (a special mention to Lindon House, Airton), Weather was great. Views fantastic. Recommended.

timid_traveller99 - Tripadvisor, July 2016 - Way of the Roses

" Shane and kay organised a wonderful Way of the Roses tour. Great bikes, accommodation and assistance. highly recommended.

Billie I - Tripadvisor, July 2016 - Way of the Roses

" Our recent cycling tour across England was terrific, we enjoyed every bit of it. In the event, Shane and Kay's advice was perfectly judged, and from our initial enquiries to the finish the organisation was seamless.

Kate M - Tripadvisor, July 2016 - Way of the Roses

" Hi Shane and Kay, Just wanted to say thanks for organising such a brilliant trip. Everyone had a lovely time. The accommodation and food were great and you looked after us so well. Hopefully we can come back and try another of your rides next time we are over. All the best, Ian "

Ian Iveson - Email with permission to reproduce - Way of the Roses

" Kay and Shane are very accommodating people and lovely to deal with.I put in a request to hire a bike and go off and do The Longdendale Trail on my own, as I wasn't in a group.So for a very affordable price they agreed to this. They were so helpful & knowledgeable . I got picked up from my accommodation in Glossop and dropped at the trail start.I was equipped with everything I needed- quality bike ( Which Shane made all the necessary adjustments too) panniers,maps, water,bike lock,puncture repair outfit etc. I had a fantastic bike ride, taking in amazing scenery.When I'd finished and had a coffee, I just texted Shane and he promptly came and collected me and took me back. Good company too & very polite people. Felt inspired to want to do a longer tour- have to see if I can rally some friends. "

LMCK001 - Tripadvisor - Knebworth, June 2016 - Peak District Tour

Absolutely amazing cycling trip! fabulous views, food and accomodation. Highly recommended "

Ted Duffy - Google - Peak District Tour

" Shane and Kay organised a 4 four day trip from Morecambe to Bridlington on the Way of the Roses. It was a fantastic trip and we felt really well looked after. The bikes were very good, the accommodation ranged from good to great and we had some great food, some great days on the bike and couldn't recommend it too highly. "

Agendafilm - Tripadvisor , Sydney, Austrailia. June 2016 - Way of the Roses Tour

" We had a great time cycling the Conwy Valley Loop; the scenery is lovely and the cycling was a good combination of small hills which reward you with great views and then flatter areas so you can make more progress and see even more. "

Meandhertravel - Tripadvisor , Vancouver, Canada, May 2016 - North Wales Tour

" Took us on a great cycling tour in North Wales (the Conwy Valley Loop). Beautiful scenery and even managed to get good weather! "

Mark Fuchs - Google - North Wales Tour

" I would highly recommend this holiday for anyone looking for something energetic that lets you experience the countryside while being well informed about the beautiful surroundings, we cycled 50 miles over two days across the Peak District and stayed in two different towns each night, Shane, our tour guide, kept us on the right path while his wife Kay made sure our luggage was waiting in the b&b for us each nigh. We will definitely be booking them again on one of there other routes before the end of the year. "

Ted - Tripadvisor , CastleBlayney, Ireland 2016 - Peak District Tour


Way of the Roses Signpost Morecambe
PayPal CTRIP Financial Failure Protection Tripadvisor